Orbit360 Gravel Event

Orbit360 is a Gravel event the extra class. 18 Gravel routes spread across Germany, with a route length between 150 km and 200 km. With between 500 hm and 4.200 hm. I've just ridden my first track and I have to say I'm hooked On Fire!

Orbit360 - Break in the shade
Orbit360 - Break in the shade

What is Orbit360

Orbit360 is a community event and was born out of necessity. The idea came to the initiators in 2020, in the Corona year. On the Orbit360 website you can read everything again and register for the event.

According to the website of the initiators, the idea behind it is:

Due to the 2020 pandemic, many cycling events have been cancelled. For us, that didn't mean the end of cycling. We saw it more as a new beginning: we wanted to share the best routes in Germany with our cycling community. From that moment, Orbit360 was born, the first unsupported gravel adventure series where riders can compete - safely and in an exciting new format!

orbit360.cc

As a driver, you can drive as many of these 18 tracks as you want. There is a public ranking and a separate point system.

  • points for finished orbits
  • Points for placement (by time) per orbit

Orbit360 runs until August 15, 2021, so if you feel like being part of Orbit, you still have the opportunity to participate. until 15 August 2021 go the first Eight driven Orbit360 routes into the rating.

What is the Orbit360 for me

I haven't signed up for Orbit360 and I will still ride some of the routes. The initiators of the Orbit360 are so open that they provide all tracks of the Gravel series on Komoot.

Orbit360 routes at Komoot

The organizers from Orbit have recommended that you only pull the routes onto your navigation device shortly before departure, because the routes are constantly being adjusted over time. Fallen trees, route closures and and and... always mean that the routes have to be adjusted.

I've already ridden one route, the Milky Way Mission, but like I said, it won't be my last Orbit 360. I will here in this article just about my made Orbit360 Gravel Adventure to report.

My Orbit360 adventure

Milky Way Mission

Orbit360 - Holmer sand mountains
Orbit360 - Holmer sand mountains

I had just picked up my new Gravel, I had wanted one for a long time and was really looking forward to it. I drove it to work for a week to adjust it. For me, this is always the best way to adjust the saddle and the like. My new Gravel is a Pearl again, as is my racer, the Pearl Legacy. So now I have a Pearl Gravel with a carbon frame and double GRX 2 components.

Orbit360 - Maiden voyage for my Pearl Gravel
Orbit360 - Maiden voyage for my Pearl Gravel

As you can see, it's pretty dusty here, but that's what a gravel should look like. Of course I'm going to the new one horsey dedicate another article in my stable, here I would like to stay with Orbit for now.

Start in Stellingen

I live not far from the starting point in Stellingen, so of course I cycled there. Due to the construction sites in Hamburg 😩 I didn't find my way to the start 😂 or drove past. It started well!

From the train station we first went to the Volkspark. Criss-cross the forest trails. Just out of the Volkspark we went on the next gravel path and into the next park further west. Even here, all roads were new to me, I rarely crossed well-known roads and paths.

I discovered one of my personal highlights shortly after Wedel, the Holmer Sandberge 😍

Super challenging route

Unfortunately, I enjoyed the landscape so much that I didn't turn where I should have 🙈 and had to push my bike a few hundred meters through the sand. But it was worth it, it's really worth pushing at this beautiful spot!

It continued a loop through the northern Klövensteen and then in a northerly direction through Rellingen and a lot of forest to Bad Bramstedt.

I reached Bad Bramstedt after about 115 km, which was a little over half of the Milky Way Mission Orbit. In Bad Bramstedt I stopped for coffee, cake and rolls because the first half of the orbit was really demanding. Lots of MTB single trails, sand passages and lots of ups and downs. If the second half of the track had been just as demanding, it would have been tight in time. Even if the first stretch was so demanding, or maybe because of it, I would like to ride parts of it again.

Heat a lot of Gravel

Now it was the rest of the Milky Way Mission on Gravel through the sun. Today it was over 30°C and I often had to fill up my bottles. So I covered my kilometers until I drove back into the city via the north-west of Hamburg.

206 km and 500 vertical meters

Conclusion Milky Way Mission

My first Orbit360 and it was awesome and definitely not my last Orbit360. My new Pearl Gravel is definitely broken in now and I've tasted orbit blood. I can definitely recommend the tracks (I've only heard good things), check out Komoot and find an orbit near you. Tell me about your experiences, I'm always happy!

Kommentar hinterlassen

Your e-mail address will not be published.

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Orbit360 – Gravel Event

Training und Touren Bikepacking Orbit360 – Gravel Event

Orbit360 ist ein Gravel Event der Extraklasse. 18 Gravel-Strecken quer über Deutschland verteilt, mit einer Streckenlänge zwischen 150 km und 200 km. Mit zwischen 500 hm und 4.200 hm. Ich bin gerade meine erste Strecke gefahren und muss sagen, ich bin total On Fire!

Orbit360 - Pause im Schatten
Orbit360 - Pause im Schatten

Was ist Orbit360

Orbit360 ist ein Community Event und aus der Not heraus entstanden. Die Idee kam den Initiatoren 2020, im Corona Jahr. Auf der Orbit360 Webseite kann man alles noch einmal nachlesen und sich für das Event anmelden.

Die Idee dahinter ist laut der Webseite der Initiatoren:

Aufgrund der Pandemie 2020 wurden viele Radveranstaltungen abgesagt. Für uns bedeutete das nicht das Ende des Radsports. Wir sahen es eher als Neuanfang: Wir wollten die besten Strecken Deutschlands mit unserer Radsport-Community teilen. Von diesem Moment an war Orbit360 geboren, die erste nicht unterstützte Gravel-Adventure-Serie, in der Fahrer gegeneinander antreten können – sicher und in einem aufregenden neuen Format!

orbit360.cc

Als Fahrer kann man aus diesen 18 Tracks so viele Fahren wie man möchte. Es gibt ein Öffentliches Ranking und ein eigenes Punktesystem.

  • Punkte für ge-finishte Orbits
  • Punkte für die Platzierung (nach Zeit) je Orbit

Orbit360 läuft noch bis zum 15. August 2021, wenn Du also Lust darauf bekommst Teil des Orbits zu werden dann hast Du noch die Gelegenheit teilzunehmen. Bis zum 15. August 2021 gehen die ersten Acht gefahrenen Orbit360 Strecken in die Wertung ein.

Was ist der Orbit360 für mich

Ich habe mich nicht beim Orbit360 angemeldet und trotzdem werde ich einige der Strecken fahren. Die Initiatoren des Orbit360 sind so offen, dass sie alle strecken der Gravel-Serie auf Komoot bereitstellen.

Orbit360 Strecken bei Komoot

Die Veranstalter vom Orbit haben empfohlen die Strecken erst kurz vor Abfahrt auf sein Navi zu ziehen, weil die Strecken im laufe der Zeit immer wieder angepasst werden. Umgestürzte Bäume, Streckensperrungen und und und... führen immer wieder dazu, dass die Strecken angepasst werden müssen.

Eine Strecke bin ich schon gefahren, die Milky Way Mission, aber wie ich schon sagte wird es nicht meine letzter Orbit 360 gewesen sein. Ich werde hier in diesem Artikel einfach mal über meine Gemachten Orbit360 Gravel Abenteuer berichten.

Mein Orbit360 Abenteuer

Milky Way Mission

Orbit360 - Holmer Sandberge
Orbit360 - Holmer Sandberge

Ich hatte gerade mein neues Gravel abgeholt, wollte ich schon länger haben und hatte mich riesig drauf gefreut. Zwecks Justierung bin ich damit erst einmal eine Woche lang zur Arbeit gefahren. Für mich lässt sich so immer am besten Sattel und Co einstellen. Mein neues Gravel ist wieder ein Pearl, wie auch mein Renner, das Pearl Legacy. So habe ich jetzt noch ein Pearl Gravel mit Carbon Rahmen und 2-fach GRX 600 Komponenten.

Orbit360 - Jungfernfahrt für mein Pearl Gravel
Orbit360 - Jungfernfahrt für mein Pearl Gravel

Wie Ihr sehen könnt ist es hier schon ganz schön staubig, aber so muss ein Gravel ja auch aussehen. Natürlich werde ich dem neuen Pferdchen in meinem Stall auch noch mal einen eigenen Artikel widmen, hier möchte ich erst einmal beim Orbit bleiben.

Start in Stellingen

Ich wohne nicht weit entfernt vom Startpunkt in Stellingen, deshalb bin ich natürlich mit dem Rad hingefahren. Auf Grund der Baustellen in Hamburg 😩 habe ich den Weg zum Start erst nicht gefunden 😂, bzw. vorbei gefahren. Ging ja gut los!

Vom Bahnhof ging es erst einmal in den Volkspark. Kreuz und quer die Waldwege abfahren. Gerade raus aus dem Volkspark ging es auch schon auf den nächsten Gravel Weg und in den nächsten Park weiter Richtung Westen. Bereits hier waren alle Wege neu für mich, ich kreuzte nur noch selten bekannte Straßen und Wege.

Eines meiner persönlichen Highlights entdeckte ich kurz hinter Wedel, die Holmer Sandberge 😍

Super anspruchsvolle Strecke

Leider hatte ich mich so an der Landschaft erfreut, dass ich nicht abgebogen bin, wo ich hätte abbiegen müssen 🙈 und musste mein Rad ein paar Hundert Meter durch den Sand schieben. Hat sich aber gelohnt, das Schieben lohnt sich an dieser schönen Stelle wirklich!

Es ging weiter eine Schleife durch den nördlichen Klövensteen und im Anschluss in nördliche Richtung durch Rellingen und viel Wald bis nach Bad Bramstedt.

Bad Bramstedt erreichte ich nach ca. 115 km, was etwas über die Hälfte des Milky Way Mission Orbits war. In Bad Bramstedt machte ich erst einmal eine Kaffe, Kuchen und Brötchen Pause, denn die erste Hälfte des Orbits war wirklich anspruchsvoll. Sehr viele MTB Singletrails, Sand-Passagen und viel auf und ab. Wäre die zweite Hälfte des Tracks genauso anspruchsvoll gewesen, wäre es zeitlich eng geworden. Auch wenn das erste Stück so anspruchsvoll war, oder gerade deshalb, würde ich Teile davon gerne wieder fahren.

Hitze jede Menge Gravel

Nun ging es den Rest der Milky Way Mission auf Gravel durch die Sonne, Heute waren es über 30°C und ich musste häufig meine Flaschen auffüllen. So rollte ich meine Kilometer ab bis ich über den Nord-Westen Hamburgs wieder in die Stadt reinfuhr.

206 km und 500 hm

Fazit Milky Way Mission

Mein erster Orbit360 und es war der Hammer und bestimmt nicht mein letzter Orbit360. Mein neues Pearl Gravel ist jetzt auf jeden Fall gut eingefahren und ich habe Orbit-Blut geleckt. Ich kann die Tracks (ich habe nur gutes gehört) auf jeden Fall empfehlen, schaut mal vorbei bei Komoot und sucht Euch einen Orbit in Eurer Nähe. Berichtet mir gerne von Euren Erlebnissen, ich freue mich immer!

Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.